Stand Up To Cancer - standuptocancer.orgThis is where the end of cancer begins
   Please leave this field empty

SU2C Scientific Research Teams

Share this:

Like this page on Facebook

Vinod Balachandran, MD

Scientific Research Team:
Vinod Balachandran, MD

Vinod Balachandran, MD

Vinod Balachandran is an Assistant Attending Surgeon of Hepatopancreatobiliary Surgery, and a Member of the Parker Institute for Cancer Immunotherapy and the David M. Rubenstein Center for Pancreatic Cancer Research at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (MSKCC). Vinod completed his B.S. in Physics at Cornell University, M.D. at SUNY Stony brook, General Surgery residency at Weill Cornell Medical Center, and Complex Surgical Oncology fellowship at MSKCC. He performed his postdoctoral work in cellular tumor immunology, where he identified a new mechanism of action of T cell dependency of the anti-tumor effects of tyrosine kinase inhibitors in solid tumors, and discovered new ways to synergize kinase inhibition with immune checkpoint therapy. Currently, in addition to caring for patients with tumors of the pancreas, liver and biliary tree, he runs an NIH-funded translational research laboratory whose scientific focus is antigen discovery, and antigenic regulation of T cell fates in solid tumors, with the overall objective being to identify new principles and develop new strategies for cancer vaccination and immunotherapy to treat human cancers. His group has recently identified novel neoantigens with unique immunogenic qualities in long-term survivors of pancreatic cancer, and is designing clinical trials of these neoantigens as cancer vaccines in pancreatic and other cancers. Vinod is the recipient of the NIH Paul Calabresi Career Development Award, the Society for Surgical Oncology Harvey Barker Award, the AACR Career Development Award, the Damon Runyon Clinical Investigator Award, and is the Principal Investigator of several research initiatives, including a Cancer Moonshot Award from the National Cancer Institute, and a Convergence Award from Stand Up to Cancer.